SALA VLP Volunteers Honored with Awards

sala logo

By Susan Daicoff, Director of VLP


The Volunteer Lawyer’s Program (VLP) is delighted to announce and congratulate the following volunteer attorneys on receiving the prestigious Top 50 Pro Bono Awards given by the Arizona Bar Foundation for Legal Services and Education (AFLSE)! Of the fifty awardees, sixteen currently volunteer and provide legal advice and assistance to pro bono clients with VLP at Southern Arizona Legal Aid, Inc.


Congratulations to these Volunteer Attorneys on this wonderful recognition and on their unwavering commitment to pro bono legal work for the citizens of Arizona! These awards are based on their great work advising and assisting clients in legal clinics, teaching classes, and other important service to VLP and SALA and, in some cases, to other pro bono legal aid organizations in the area.

Kayla Bernays

Paul Bowron

Rob Charles, Jr.

James Conlogue

Gloria Goldman

Valerie Hink

Gary Kraft

Ronda Lustman

Nathan Parkey

Frederick Petersen

Steven Simon

Benjamin Smith

Tyler Stanton

Grant Stratton

Geoff Ulreich

Ed Van Vianen

We also congratulate Judge (Ret.) James Conlogue on receiving the statewide William E. Morris Access to Justice Pro Bono Award for 2021 for his tireless work with VLP and Southern Arizona Legal Aid, Inc (SALA).  Besides serving on both the SALA Board and VLP Advisory Committee, he regularly handles legal clinics in Tucson and Bisbee, consults on various cases, teaches classes, takes on special projects, and focuses particularly on serving in rural southeastern Arizonan counties.


All of these awards are so, so very well deserved! Thank you all for your willingness and service to clients who otherwise would not be able to access an attorney!


For questions or comments about the blog, please contact us at: